The Woman of the Year Award
Do you know a woman you would like to see honored at our annual Woman of the Year Banquet?

The Women's Roundtable will start taking applications in December 2014 for our 2015 Woman of the Year.

 For  more information, write to us at: 
The Women’s Roundtable
P.O. Box 3922
Erie, PA  16508

Or check back in December to download an application.

The 2014 Woman of the Year Awards dinner was held on Thursday, May 15, 2014 at the Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Thank You WRT Members and Guests for your support and participation.

The Women's Roundtable annually presents the Woman Of The Year Award in this area and we are very proud of this event. This award honors women who have become role models for not only young women and girls, but all humankind.

2014 Woman of The Year
Emily Hirsch

Director, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit,  UPMC Hamot

The Women's Roundtable of Northwest Pennsylvania is pleased to announce the winner for the 27th Annual Woman of the Year Award is Emily Hirsch.  As the unit director of the neonatal intensive care unit at UPMC Hamot, Emily works for women and their childrens’ health and well being.  She has worked at UPMC Hamot since 1974 and was on the team to help design the new hospital. Emily was nominated by fellow UPMC employee, Ellen Schauerman.

Emily was the driving force in the implementation of “family centered care” to improve care delivery and maximize patient experience for families.  In addition she developed and implemented the following: new protocol and policy for care of late pre-term infants that keeps the moms with their babies; “stork support pregnancy navigation program” to help women through pregnancy and promote healthy outcomes; a car seat rental program for underprivileged mothers; and the “cuddler program” in the NICU to hold and comfort the drug-addicted babies and those of families who can’t visit regularly.

Her community service includes grandparenting class instruction, March of Dimes regional advisory board member, Erie County child death review team member, Elder on the governing board of Elmwood Presbyterian Church and bible school teacher.

Prior recipients of the Woman of the Year Award: 


1987 Dorothy Christoph

1988 Ethelmae DeMatteo

  1989 Sr. Joan Chittister 1991 Judge Stephanie Domitrovich
  1992 Dr. Glenda Lawhorn 1993 Corrine Halperin Egan
  1994 Linda Bebko-Jones 1995 Dr. Susan Criswell
  1996 Judy Lynch 1997 Susan Kemenyffy
  1998 Ruth Burton 1999 Rubye Jenkins-Husband
  2000 Nancy Dusckas 2001 Dr. Loretta Seigley
  2002 Margery Knight Kibler 2003 Sharon Heidecker
  2004 Vicki Stetson 2005 Dr. Margaret Laukaitis
  2006 Susanne Porowski 2007 Dr. Judy Smith
  2008 Judge Susan Paradise Baxter 2009 Kim Stucke
  2010 Linda Stevenson
2012 Debbie DeAngelo
2011 Mary Graziano
2013 RoseMarie Lackey






Website Builder